Permits - Exemptions

Hunting & Fishing Exemptions

It is unlawful for any person born on or after June 1, 1975 to take wild animal life with a firearm without first completing a hunter safety course. Proof must be presented at the time of license purchase. Persons not required to possess a license must have their hunter safety card in their possession when hunting in Florida.

Florida law requires possession of a valid hunting or fishing license with the following exceptions:

  • Any child under 16 years of age.
  • Any person hunting or freshwater fishing on her or his homestead property, or on the homestead property of the person’s spouse or minor child; or any minor child hunting or freshwater fishing on the homestead property of her or his parent. 
  • Any resident who is a member of the United States Armed Forces and not stationed in this state, when home on leave for 30 days or less, upon submission of orders.
  • Any resident fishing for recreational purposes only, within her or his county of residence with live or natural bait, using poles or lines not equipped with fishing line retrieval mechanism. (NOTE: This exemption does not apply to residents fishing in a legally established fish management area).
  • Any person freshwater fishing in a fish pond of 20 acres or less that is located entirely within the private property of the fish pond owner.
  • Any person freshwater fishing in a fish pond that is licensed in accordance with s 379.356.
  • Any person fishing who has been accepted as a client for developmental disabilities services by the Department of Children and Family Services, provided the department furnishes proof thereof.
  • Any resident saltwater fishing from land or from a structure fixed to the land who has been determined eligible by the Department of Children and Family Services for the food assistance program, temporary cash assistance, or the Medicaid programs.  A benefit issuance or program identification card issued by the Department of Children and Family Service or the Florid Medicaid program of the Agency of Health Care Administration shall serve as proof of program eligibility.   The client must have in his or her possession the ID card and positive proof of identification when fishing.
  • Any person saltwater fishing from a vessel licensed pursuant to s. 379.354(7).
  • Any person saltwater fishing from a vessel the operator of which is licensed pursuant to s. 379.354(7).
  • Any person saltwater fishing who holds a valid saltwater products license issued under s. 379.361(2).
  • Any person saltwater fishing for recreational purposes from a pier licensed under s. 379.354.
  • Any resident fishing for mullet in fresh water who has a valid Florida freshwater fishing license.
  • Any resident 65 years of age or older who has in her or his possession proof of age and residency.  A no-cost license under this paragraph may be obtained from any tax collector’s office upon proof of age and residency and must be in the possession of the resident during hunting, freshwater fishing, and saltwater fishing activities.
  • Any resident recreationally freshwater fishing who holds a valid commercial fishing license issued under s. 379.363(1)(a).